Community Advisory Board

The Community Advisory Board was established to increase stakeholder input and guidance. The Advisory Board provides support to the Leduc Center by assisting in the development and sustainment of an effective network of relationships critical to the Leduc Center’s success, including planning, communication, and implementation of events and programs; reviewing organizational goals and assessment results for consistency with UMass Dartmouth’s mission as well as civic engagement’s role in education; and recommending strategies for development and expansion of the Leduc Center’s programs.

Community Representatives

Carl Alves
Executive Director
Positive Action Against Chemical Abuse (PAACA)

Bill Perkins
President & CEO
People, Inc.

Nicholas Christ
President & CEO
Baycoast Bank

David Cressman
Town Administrator
Town of Dartmouth

Elizabeth Duffy
Assistant General Counsel
Commonwealth of Massachusetts, Department of Developmental Services

Michelle Hantman
United Way of Greater New Bedford

Gerard Kavanaugh
LStar Capital

Rev. Dr. Robert Lawrence
Pastor Emeritus
First Congregation Church

Jeanne Leduc
Benefactor & Community Member

Robert Leduc
Benefactor & Community Member

Rev. David Lima
Executive Minister
Inter-Church Council of Greater New Bedford

Dr. Jean MacCormack
Chancellor Emeritus
University of Massachusetts Dartmouth

Christopher Markey
State Representative
Massachusetts House of Representatives

Jim Mathes
President & CEO
Dennison Memorial Community Center

Denise Porche
Executive Director
The Island Foundation

Gina Purtell
Director, Allen’s Pond Wildlife Sanctuary
Massachusetts Audubon Society

Michele Roberts
Executive Vice President & Community Relations Officer
Bristol County Savings Bank

Michael Rodrigues
State Senator
Massachusetts State Senate

Dr. Bruce Rose
Community Member

Gary Schuyler
Retired CEO & President
YMCA Southcoast

Corinn Williams
Executive Director
Community Economic Development Center of Southeastern Massachusetts

Dr. Mary Zahm
Professor, Psychology Department
Bristol Community College

UMass Dartmouth Representatives

Dr. Carlos Benavides
Associate Professor and Chair
Foreign Literature and Languages Department, College of Arts and Sciences

Lee Blake
Assistant Director
SouthCoast Education Compact

David Borges
Assistant Director
The Public Policy Center

Paula Cruz ’14

Cynthia Cummings
Assistant Vice Chancellor
Student Affairs Office

Hugh Dunn
SouthCoast Development Partnership

Dr. Memory Holloway
Associate Professor and Chair
Art History Department, College of Visual and Performing Arts

Jacob Miller ’16

Dr. John Quinn
Director of Public Interest Law Program
Law School

Peter Schock ’12

%d bloggers like this: